General Synod

The General Synod, which comprises a House of Bishops, a House of Clergy and a House of Laity, with representatives from all English Dioceses, meets two to three times a year to consider legislation for the Church of England, along with worship and matters of national and international importance. 

Each diocese is represented in by their diocesan Bishop, in our case the Bishop of Hereford and by clergy representatives elected by the clergy of the diocese, together with lay representatives elected by deanery synod members.

General Synod elections are every five years with six people elected in Hereford Diocese

Elections take place every five years and the term of office is a quinquennium (5 year period of representation) for General Synod.  We will be holding elections 

Your representatives for the current triennium (due to end in 2020, but extended to 2021) are: 

Clergy Synod Representatives: 
  • The Reverend Simon Cawdell
  • The Reverend Neil Patterson
  • The Reverend Laura Hnautik
Laity Synod Representatives: 
  • Mrs Elizabeth Bird
  • Mrs Wendy Coombey
  • Mr Martin Elcock

To find out more about the work of General Synod, please visit the Church of England website 

Additional resources

Other Committees and Groups which are part of our governance structures: